Good Eats

As a rule, I generally don’t do tags though I still owe a few of you out there a post (you tagee’s know who you are).
This one struck me differently than most because it has to do with food and I love food.

It has to deal with favorite places to eat.

If ever you should find me in the Lone Star state, I’ll surely be hanging with my good friend Fuzz (who tagged me and put up his own mouth-watering list of good eats—and what a list it is. Sign me up for the Mafia Queso. Good God).

Here’s how it goes; I list 5 of my favorite area restaurants and tag five bloggers to do the same.
An email informing them of the tag will help.
This is one serious meme.
The best local places to eat recommended by the local people that have actually eaten the food there.
It just doesn’t get any better than that, does it?

And away I go . . .

 

The Kenmore Diner, Worcester, MA

This all-night diner burnt to the ground in a tragic fire in December of 1999 that claimed the lives of 6 Worcester Firemen.
I believe it was re-built by late 2000 and seemingly never missed a beat.

This is home cooking at its very best.

Situated underneath a busy Interstate, plates have been known to move from the vibration.
And I always thought it was just because I had a buzz on.
Though they specialize in breakfast (the corned beef hash is absolutely to die for) they serve up much of the traditional diner fare: meatloaf and real mashed potatoes, American Chop Suey, a Pot Roast that rivals mine, Club Sandwiches and a Chef Salad that boasts what seems like almost impossible 2lbs of thinly sliced deli cold cuts.
At 3 bucks, a simple egg, cheese and pepper breakfast sandwich on a bulkie is culinary poetry. Incredible.
Even the waitresses are the bomb.

 

Wright’s Chicken Farm, Slatersville, R.I.

Family-style, rapid-fire, all you can eat, slow broasted chicken.
It comes with fries, salad, pasta, bread, butter and all the malt vinegar you can shake on your taters. It’s cheap and you always feel ‘barfing full’ when you leave.

Need I say more?

Baxter’s, Hyannis, MA {Cape Cod}

I’ll be dining on Baxter’s sometime this summer. (pictured above)
The wharf overlooks the scenic Hyannis harbour and is the quintessential ‘Cape Cod’ setting. The walk-in, stand in line and order your food restaurant is casual to say the least, perfect when you don’t feel like getting all gussied up.
And I never do when I’m on vacation.
Nor do my girls.

Baxter’s serves the sweetest boiled lobster I’ve ever had in my life and that’s before I plunge the chunks into warm, melted butter. (Don’t worry, I’ll be counting points)
Fried Clams, Scallops, Shrimp, Haddock, Calamari, Burgers – please, stop me before I burst an artery.
A few frosty ones and a red crustacean on the harbour at sunset with good friends and I understand all too well why I brave the nasty summer traffic down here.
Well, the lobster and the fact that my best friend Michael lives on the Cape as well.
We usually meet here.

Ronnie’s, Auburn, MA

The best damn Fried Clams within a one hundred mile radius.

The lobster rolls don’t suck either.
I usually leave with tartar sauce coursing through my veins.
Someone call my cardiologist.
I think I’m going down.
Soon.

Moe’s Southwest Grill, Worcester, MA

A Tex-Mex place that specializes in a burrito called “The Homewrecker” can’t be all bad. This sombitch is the diameter of a friggin’ firehose and costs less than six bucks.
No lie, folks.
And they make it right before your very eyes with all fresh ingredients.

Add a basket of their very own fresh tortilla chips and a cup of Queso and you’re golden.
When you walk in, everyone behind the counter yells, “Welcome to Moe’s!!!!”
{Hannah’s favorite part}

 

I’ve left out many favorites that have, for one reason or another, gone belly up.
My all time favorite was a quaint, little place called the El Morocco, a Lebanese restaurant where Pamela and I had our wedding reception.
It makes me sad that it’s no longer there.
But I have a better recipe for Hummus anyway. {8-)

People I’m tagging:

Annie

Moe

Carnealian

Spaz

And one out of the ordinary pick {Laho, post your faves in the comments or emaul me}

Laho

 

Don’t let me down guys.

This is one downright cool tag.
Thanks, Fuzz. This was a wicked blast.
Someday we really have to sit down to a plate of seriously hot ribs
and mucho cerveza’s amigo . . .

~m

btw ~

On an interesting note, this is how the meme got to me

Nicole (Sydney, Australia)
velverse (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
LB (San Giovanni in Marignano, Italy)
Selba (Jakarta, Indonesia)
Olivia (London, England)
ML (Utah, United States)
Lotus (Toronto, Canada)
tanabata (Saitama, Japan)
Andi (Dallas [ish], Texas, United States)
Lulu (Chicago, Illinois, United States)
Chris (Boyne City, Michigan, United States)
AB (Cave Creek, Arizona, United States)
Johnny Yen (Chicago, Illinois, United States)
Bubs (Mt Prospect, Illinois, United States)
Mob (Midland, Texas United States)
Yas (Ahwatukee, Arizona USA)
Alicia(Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA)
Tug (Hell, Colorado, USA)
Bond (Memphis, TN, USA)
TopChamp (Glasgow, UK)
Kailani (Honolulu, HI, USA)
Amber (Henderson, TN, USA)
the weirdgirl (San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA)
Fuzz – ( Spur, America)
Michael – (Boston, MA, USA)

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Good Eats

  1. I definitely want to go to all these places when we meet for our beer in Bawston. Especially that lobster place. Oh yes. Most definitely.
    I’m in, I’m working on my list.
    WC

    Can’t wait to check it out.
    ~m

    Like

  2. I like Squire Whites for some lobster now and then M.. last time my friend and I split a 10 ponda
    yummmmmmmmm.. 😛

    10 pounds? How many sticks of butter did you use? 😉
    ~m

    Like

  3. Shame, Michael, Shame! You may not be a ‘Home-wrecker’,,,,but you are a ‘Diet-Wrecker’.
    You make it sound so darn good, I can eat your words….absolutely scrumptious!

    Diet-wrecker is right.
    These days, I usually opt for the Full Monty w/ steak (no beans).
    That’s 4 points, according to my daughter Sarah.
    ~m

    Like

  4. Gulp…. I am trying to control myself and not to drool.. but it just seems like impossible!
    Why… why must you mention calamari… scallops… clams… oh!!! Yum… *drools*
    Thanks for sharing so many great places to dine!

    I’m assuming you like calamari? Scallops? Clams? 😉
    They are quite good.
    I stopped by your blog and have to say it’s beautiful.
    Funny how cuisine brings all of us together.
    It’s something we can all agree on.
    Food is good!
    Thanks for the visit.
    ~m

    Like

  5. Don’t know how many sticks of butta on that 10 pounda but used a few at Gerry’s lobsta fest.
    a friend does some lobstering in Salem someone I know was throwing a party and wanted 70 lobsters so I got a price for him we took a ride up had lobster while we were there my friend cooked 11 during our visit. got his 50 lobsters for his party and my friend sent me home with 25 free of charge,, which were cooked that nite when we got back at my friends house and split between 5 of us….I had my fill of lobster for a bit

    That would be my fill of lobster for a few summers anyway…
    ~m

    Like

  6. Mistral and The Oak Room-Boston, Olives-Charlestown, Puerini’s and “The Brick Alley”-Newport, RI-Carl’s-Oxford, Sturbridge Bakery and Bread-Sturbridge.
    My house when the babe whips up somethin special!

    Carl’s is awesome. Great diner.
    Still waiting to try Mistral. Pamela said it was incredible.
    Nice view from the window seat too.
    Thanks for responding to the tag Laho.
    Didn’t know if you would.
    It’s much appreciated.
    ~m

    Like

  7. OK mine is up, but could never be out done by restaurants on the Cape. I’m so darned jealous. Me and Hannah Banana need to go to a Moe’s together, I love that place!!!

    I’ll join you guys. It’s Full Monty time…
    ~m

    Like

  8. More: Capital Grill for drinks (STOLI DOLI), American FlatBread-Waitsfield, VT


    Forgot about Pamela’s Stoli.
    American Flatbread sounds cool too.
    Do they have pooftha rolls? 😉
    ~m

    Like

  9. Mmmm Wright’s Chicken Farm sounds so good..all me can eat chicken??? Haha definiately a place for me…and Baxter’s?? so many seafood!!!! Boiled lobster..with butter??!! Scallps??? Clams? Shrimp!! Arghhh so hungry!!! And Ronnie’s sounds good too..nothing beats a good tartar sauce…
    Ps thanks for doing the tag. I hope you enjoyed it.. If you know of anyone else doing it please feel free to send me a message and I’ll update them too on the updated list of tag doers

    Will do, Nicole.
    Great meme. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
    ~m

    Like

  10. Those joints sound awesome. The one thing that is sorely lacking is good seafood joints in West Texas. And I must say that on occasion it is really good to be barfing full.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.