Anima Obscura

I blame yesterday for
words unspoken;
one goodbye I’ll never ever hear;
promises of tomorrow, opaque and empty

Of time, fluid and perpetual
my life seemingly shipwrecks,
splinters of wood and unforgiving rocks bear witness
to the crashing waves surrounding me
I search a deserted harbour for a beacon of light,
of grace,
and a desperately needed peace . . .

I blame yesterday
for all the wrongs I could never fix;
the hearts, the tender lives, forgettable moments that left me broken and incalculably fragile

Of life, an arid landscape cracks open before me
partially exposing a soft white light, completely obscuring the truth
the Tides continue, fluid and perpetual and it makes me wonder
If I can still believe in this tomorrow
when it’s so damn hard believing in this today . . .

~m

10 thoughts on “Anima Obscura

  1. I don’t think I know anybody else who juggles words the way you do, magical and yet manages to reach me like a friend.
    More later……

    I do juggle, not well, but I can juggle.
    Maybe I should put up a YouTube video . . . :mrgreen:
    ~m

    Like

  2. Ok, I’m not going to leave it there. Really nice imagery here, and your metaphor of the shipwreck particularly effective. And these lines:

    “the Tides continue, fluid and perpetual and it makes me wonder
    If I can still believe in this tomorrow
    when it’s so damn hard believing in this today”

    …are among the best you’ve ever written. So again I ask: still think you can’t write poetry?

    -The Baron von Bunchausen

    For me, I just write.
    If it comes off as poetry then so be it.
    As far as calling myself a poet, nope, just can’t quite do it.
    Yet.
    I really appreciate your comments, Smitty.
    But I still don’t like 15th century music :mrgreen:
    ~m

    Like

  3. pain and confusion…not sure if it’s meant to, but it shows….
    yeah, a hug would be good…not sure it would help, but it makes me want to all the same


    This post wrote itself in my head after I sent a text message to Pamela at work.
    The text said: I feel very sad today. Blame yesterday?
    When I sent it, the wheels started spinning and the post happened on the train.
    I spent the better part of the ride home (1.75 hours) writing it and another 2 hours editing.
    I’m still not totally satisfied but I like to bring “fresh” words to my blog (if that makes any sense)
    Not sure why I felt a need to explain but there you have it.
    Can’t wait until Sat night . . . 😉
    ~m

    Like

  4. I really appreciate your comments, Smitty.
    But I still don’t like 15th century music

    I’m working on that one. At this point, I’ll be satisfied if you just give poor Gene Clark an honest listen. 😉

    -smith


    This week. Promise. :mrgreen:
    ~m

    Like

Leave a Reply

