Please read this post!


This was one email I received today worth posting.
Please read on . . .
From a nurse:

I’ll never forget the look in my patients’ eyes when I had to tell them they had to go home with the drains, new exercises and no breast (s).
I remember begging the doctors to keep these women in the hospital longer, only to hear that they would, but their hands were tied by the insurance companies.
So there I sat with my patient giving them the instructions they needed to take care of themselves, knowing full well they didn’t grasp half of what I was saying, because the glazed, hopeless, frightened look spoke louder than the quiet ‘Thank you’ they muttered.

A mastectomy is when a woman’s breast is removed in order to remove cancerous breast cells/tissue. If you know anyone who has had a mastectomy, you may know that there is a lot of discomfort and pain afterwards.
Insurance companies are trying to make mastectomies an outpatient procedure.
Let’s give women the chance to recover properly in the hospital for 2 days after surgery!

Mastectomy Bill in Congress

It takes 2 seconds to do this and is very important…

Please take the time and do it really quick!

Breast Cancer Hospitalization Bill – Important legislation for all women.

Please send this to everyone in your address book. If there was ever a time when our voices and choices should be heard, this is one of those times. If you’re receiving this, it’s because I think you will take the 30 seconds to go to vote on this issue and send it on to others you know who will do the same.

There’s a bill called the Breast Cancer Patient Protection Act which will require insurance companies to cover a minimum 48-hour hospital stay for patients undergoing a mastectomy. It’s about eliminating the ‘drive-through mastectomy’ where women are forced to go home just a few hours after surgery, against the wishes of their doctor, still groggy from anesthesia and sometimes with drainage tubes still attached.

Lifetime Television has put this bill on their web page with a petition drive to show your support. Last year over half the House signed on.

PLEASE!! Sign the petition by clicking on the link below.
You need not give more than your name and zip code number.

Mastectomy Bill
or
Contact your State Rep {supposedly more helpful than signing the petition. thanks, AMR}
or both

~m

9 thoughts on “Please read this post!

  1. Thanks for posting, this.

    It’s time for our health care system to take the power back from the insurance companies, IMO.

    This is certainly a good cause in and of itself, but I hope it’s only the beginning.

    We can only hope it’s the beginning.
    A friend sent it to me asking that I give it the light of day.
    I do hope more people read it. {and sign the petition}
    ~m

    Like

  2. JUST DO IT.

    i underwent a 5 1/2 hour surgery in 2000 {not cancer, thanQ, sweet jesus}. my doc, who crossed over on 9-10-2001 {this news was lil known since the next day the world fell apart}, charted that i developed a fever and needed to stay an additional 24 hours for observation. he made this a practice with ALL of his patients, because he was painfully aware of how short their stay was. speakng as a nurse, 24 hours is hardly enough time to process all the changes, the pain, the patient education, the alteration in body image, etc., etc.

    please sign the petition!

    I had a feeling you’d respond to this one.
    I can’t imagine undergoing something as traumatic as this then getting shoveled out of the hospital hours later.
    It’s crazy and it’s definitely not right.
    ~m

    Like

  3. My mom had a double mastectomy. It absolutely should not be an outpatient procedure.

    When I read the email I couldn’t believe it.
    I had to post something.
    Thanks for stopping by, PS
    ~m

    Like

  4. Just saw ‘Sicko’ this weekend. Whether you like Micheal Moore or not, he’s making some very valid points regarding healthcare and insurance providers and above post just confirms underlines some of the points he’s made.

    Having lived and been sick in Switzerland (Swiss health care insurance combines public, subsidised private and fully private healthcare) and Canada (public healthcare) both systems have their disadvantages. Still based on my knowledge, I’d prefer either of them to the US system, which I get to experience through work every day.

    After some of the stories I’ve heard (one of them you posted yourself about the ‘dumped patient’, this bill does not surprise. It’s probably the brilliant idea of a male (no offense).

    No offense taken. And yeah, a male?
    Yeah, a left wing scuzball, no doubt.
    ~m

    Like

  5. I used to work for a health insurance company and I would imaging the length of stay after a surgery like this would vary depending on your insurance company. For as much as we all pay for our insurance, they should be keeping us happy and comfortable for quite some time after a surgery. I’ve had outpatient surgery which is no where close to losing body parts, but I was sent home puking some unnamed color of green and was a really ugly shade of yellow. “Off ya go!” I don’t get it!!


    It doesn’t make any logical or medical sense.
    I’m stumped.
    ~m

    Like

  6. Signed.

    I’ve never had to undergo any type of major surgery and cringe at the thought of being at the mercy of the doctors and the insurance companies. Petition signed.

    As my friend Annie said, contact your rep.
    I’ve already contacted mine.
    ~m

    Like

  7. I’ve known about this and am sickened by it. I am one who has chosen not to have a mastectomy and I’ve been working on a post about it. More women need to be informed about what they are facing so they can make their own decisions about their own bodies.

    Thanks ~m!

    I read your post RShooz and have to say I admire your courage and honesty.
    It’s one angle I really hadn’t thought of.
    Wishing nothing but the best for you . . .
    ~m

    Like

Leave a Reply

