Birth

This was my NASA Image of the Day on my IGoogle homepage
(and just too damn beautiful not to share)

From NASA:

“This image from NASA’s Spitzer Space Telescope shows infant stars “hatching” in the head of the hunter constellation, Orion. Astronomers suspect that shockwaves from a supernova explosion in Orion’s head nearly three million years ago may have initiated this newfound birth.

The region featured in this Spitzer image is called Barnard 30, located approximately 1,300 light-years away and sits on the right side of Orion’s “head,” just north of the massive star Lambda Orionis.

Wisps of green in the cloud are organic molecules called polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons. These molecules are formed any time carbon-based materials are burned incompletely. On Earth, they can be found in the sooty exhaust from automobile and airplane engines. They also coat the grills where charcoal-broiled meats are cooked.

Tints of orange-red in the cloud are dust particles warmed by the newly forming stars. The reddish-pink dots at the top of the cloud are very young stars embedded in a cocoon of cosmic gas and dust. Blue spots throughout the image are background Milky Way along this line of sight.”

Click on the image above to go to the actual webpage

5 thoughts on “Birth

  1. i have the same little gadget on igoogle page as well…some of them are just breath taking…i’ve spent many hours on this site happily exploring…not quite as much as stumbling, but not too far behind either….


    NASA does have an impressive website.
    Great pics and fascinating information.
    Anything related to Orion catches my attention because it’s one of my favorite constellations.
    Can you guys see Orion from downunder? Just curious.
    I’ve never seen the ‘Southern Cross’ up here.
    ~m

    Like

  2. M-this is a very insightful post. Just wanted to let you know that unfortunately I no longer have time to maintain my blog. Therefore, you can remove Write Click from your blogroll. Thanks for everything. It’s been fun. anabelsmith

    Anabel-
    I sent you a personal email but it came back ‘return to sender’.
    Sorry to hear about the deep sixing of Write Click.
    Know that I’ve appreciated all the insightful comment you’ve left here.
    Should you pop up somewhere else, please keep me posted.
    Thanks again,
    Peace,
    ~m

    Like

  3. I love these kind of pictures, they make me think of angels being born – universes roiling against the heavens to erupt into breath taking beauty. Marvelous.
    WC

    It amazes me that it happened long before I was born and I’m just seeing it now.
    Ah, Space. So cool.
    Sometimes I think I was a rocket man in a previous life.
    ~m

    Like

Leave a Reply

