Cigars, good friends & football

At 6:30pm tomorrow night (EST), I will be sitting on my ass and smoking a really nice cigar, probably, a Cuban.
I will be spending the night watching the Pats game at a beautiful condo in Chelsea (on a 56″ plasma TV in HiDef, yeah, it sucks but somebody has to watch, right?).
DB’s living room overlooks the Tobin bridge and the lurking Boston skyline, a sight that would just take your breath away, especially at night.

The GunSlinger and possibly CAN will be there and life will be good for a short while.
Close friends, awesome cigars, cheezy chinese food, copious beers (possibly some bourbon, after the 3rd quarter) and a disgusting number of fluttering F-bombs. . . (uttered mostly by me) will be the order of the night.
Yeah, it must be a guy thing because my wife just isn’t that excited.
But she’s actually given me her blessing to go.
Maybe she’s glad she can watch the game in peace.
God, I love my wife simply because she understands the fundamental alchemy of cigars, good friends and football.
I am a lucky man.
Go figure.
Go Tom Brady.
Go Stephen Gostkowski.
Just Go, for God’s sake.
Later on…

~m

ps. here’s hoping Viniateri gets a wicked leg cramp on his first kick

pps. that’s a real cigar at the top of the post. It’s made by A.Fuente.

10 thoughts on “Cigars, good friends & football

  1. You get to have all the fun!
    Cool banner picture. See the smiley face?
    I have a thing for boxes – humidors included. But I don’t have a humidor yet.
    Remember when kids used cigar boxes for their school supplies?

    That’s the cool thing about being a Patriots fan.
    I was wondering if someone would see the smiley face.
    Now if you can tell me which building it is, you will amaze me.
    {hint} it’s next to the Prudential Center…
    I didn’t notice it until I actually uploaded the picture.
    My daughters still use cigar boxes for everything from jewelry to nic-nacks.
    They’re works of art, in a way.
    ~m

    Like

  2. Wild guess, since you gave me a hint: the Prudential Tower? I know next to nothing about Boston. You tell me.

    It’s the Hancock building (next to the Pru)
    ~m

    Like

  3. Pats just about found there first loss last night. And against who?????

    Scary. Just plain scary.
    I had to work early on Monday morning so I went to bed after the first half (and feeling less than enthusiastic regarding how the Pats played)
    I expected to wake up this morning and check ESPN.Com to see a score something like 56-17 Patriots win!
    Imagine my surprise. I almost spit out my damn coffee.
    Philly? Sheesh . . . .
    ~m

    Like

Leave a Reply

