Trilogy in Crimson (part II)

JT

Several years ago, there was a show called “Live, by Request”, that featured a variety of pop artists including K.D. Lang, Tony Bennett and Santana to name a few.
The show was similar to what you would see at a small concert venue but this was broadcast nationwide.
The gist was that the artist du-jour would take phone calls from people and play whatever they “requested”.

Simple enough, right?

James Taylor was on one night and a friend of mine
(who shall remain anonymous…she knows who she is)
decided to call and request a song.

She is obviously a James Taylor nut, or one would hope.

She told me she’d waited and waited on hold until the very end of the show before she finally hung up.
Needless to say, she was understandably pissed off.

 

I said, “Aw, that’s too bad, what were you going to request?”

 
She said, “I’ve always loved that song, ‘Time in a bottle’. I was going to ask him to play that.”

“Oh,” I said, “You mean the ‘Time in a bottle’ by Jim Croce, right?”

She blushed and said, “James Taylor didn’t do that song? Well, I’m glad I didn’t get through then!”

 Yeah, I thought, I’m damn sure Sweet Baby James is too.

Actually, it may have turned out to be quite funny.
Taylor seems to be a guy up for a good musical joke every now and then.
And he’s musically apt to cover the song.
I wonder what he’d sound like doing the Croce tune?

Maybe the world just isn’t meant to know.

Sadly, Croce could never fit the bill “Live, by Request”…

R.I.P. JC… (btw- I loved Croce)

croce

 

 *A tidbit for you music freaks; Croce, Donald Fagen (Steely Dan) and I share the same birthday: January 10
Click on either picture to go to the individual artist’s website 

~m

4 thoughts on “Trilogy in Crimson (part II)

  1. James Taylor’s, Jim Croce’s, and Harry Chapin’s songs are interchangable on a lot of levels.


    The greatest thing was the level of songwriting.
    Folks don’t write like that anymore…
    ~m

    Like

Leave a Reply

