Memory Lane Webring

webring

The Memory Lane Webring is currently up and running.
I feel confident and honored in the present roster of blogs presented there.
As I said before, it will hopefully be an invaluable resource for anyone caring for a loved one that suffers from Dementia/Alzheimer’s.

Many people are confused by the term “Dementia” and “Alzheimer’s”.
Doctors have used the two words interchangeably for years leading a trusting public into a state of total ambiguity.
In its purest form, dementia is a symptom relating to the deterioration of many basic cognitive abilities and functions, whereas Alzheimer’s is a disease.

Dementia is treatable, Alzheimer’s, unfortunately is not.
Alzheimer’s causes dementia not the other way around.

 

Current blogs in the ring include:

 

* The Yellow Wallpaper (Deb Peterson)

* The Tangled Neuron (Mona Johnson)

* Dementia Blues (Paula Martinac)

* Monday’s with Mother (Anne Robertson)

* JewBu Quest (Karma)

* My Mother’s Journey (Bailey Stewart)

* Fading from Memory (Michael Pritchard)

* Memory Lane (M.M.)

 

The weblogs are all impeccably written and contain some fascinating stories, experiences and pertinent links to articles and other various help-related sites regarding AD/Dementia.

Should you feel so inclined, put a link to the Memory Lane Webring in your sidebar or pass the link onto someone you know that could use it.
Please know that I don’t expect anyone to feel obligated to link to the ring.
I just wanted to put it out there.

I’ve sent an email to the Alzheimer Asociation regarding the ring but have yet to hear back from them. I firmly believe that the road I’ve traveled for the past ten years would have been so much smoother had I found access to information such as this.
I remember feeling so alone because I thought no one could ever understand or relate to what it was that I was going through.
The blogosphere has proven me wrong; we understand…totally.

If you know of anyone that might be interested in adding their link to the ring, please send them my way.
As always, I thank you all for reading.

~m

3 thoughts on “Memory Lane Webring

  1. Good for you! I’m so glad you’ve got this up and running. The last time I saw my grandfather, I thought he was exhibiting classic signs of Dementia/Alzheimers. But I don’t live close, and my aunts and uncles on that side of the family are rather blase about his care. I have 1 uncle that lives with him, and the rest of the family are an hour or more away. When I asked about his health, they were all like “Oh, he’s fine. We’ve taken his keys away.” But I think he needs more care than that, and I feel like I’m not in a position to say or do anything.

    Like

Leave a Reply

