Letters from the Outpost (II)

mailbox

Dear Mom-

 

Sometimes in the morning, I wake up and for a brief time the world is as I once knew it; a world completed by your presence.
Reality seeps in and I acknowledge the fact that you’re gone.
I have to let you know that not a day has gone by that I haven’t thought about you in some respect. As the song says, there’s always something there to remind me.
It might be the sound of your name, or an unannounced summer thunderstorm or maybe the melody of Danny Boy on Saint Patrick’s Day; things too numerous to mention here. Unexpected things come along as well.
I was working south of Boston one weekend and took 93 South out of the city headed towards Marshfield.

I passed a road sign on Route 139 that read: Nantasket Beach.
I thought about a small picture I have of you from that innocent and healthy time in your life that found you on that beach.
I can hear your laughter and see your smile.
Your soul was a happy one then, as I pray it is now.
I only wish that you had seen more of those sunny days.

The Bleeding Hearts and Columbine we planted for you are thriving in the garden and serve as a gentle reminder that in many ways, you’re still here with us. And you are.
Forgetting you is just not an option.

Κύριε ἐλέησον, Χριςτἐλέησον, Κύριε ἐλέησον.

 

Love you forever, Mom…

 

~Michael

7.15.2005 – 7.15.2006 (V.A.M.)

6 thoughts on “Letters from the Outpost (II)

  1. I’m thinking of you today Michael…bask in the memories, some people never get to make them…
    Best Wishes, Kelly

    That some never get to make memories is a tragedy.
    Thanks for thinking of me, Kell…

    ~m 

    Like

  2. To never forget, that is the best that one can do. It is nice that you plant your mother’s favorites in your garden in her memory.

    The nicest thing Fuzz, is that both plants will come up every year.
    A definite reminder of life and rejuvenation…

    ~m 

    Like

  3. Michael–the first year is tough because these are the first seasons without your Mom. To feel so much like a kid at our age throws us off balance–which can be bad at times, and can be good, too. It sounds like you’re on the right track. I’m thinking of you.

    Thanks, Deb.
    I lost my mom long before she actually died so I’ve already experienced the many “firsts” associated with losing someone you love.
    Itl amazes me that through it all, life still goes on.

    ~m 

    Like

  4. They say the best revenge is living well. If you asked me, that’s also the best way to honour your parents, too. Doing things to make them proud to have raised you and raising your kids in a wonderful home is the best homage.

    Great insight, Flood.
    My parents did teach me well, as I pray I’m doing with my own daughters.
    Thanks for the visit.
    And yes, I’m getting my revenge…

    ~m

    Like

  5. It’s a hard hard thing to lose a parent, I lost my dad some years ago and I STILL miss him terribly. Even though I lost him too soon I consider myself blessed because he was a great dad and I believe that I will see him again someday face to face, although I have “felt” his presence from time to time. My heart felt prayers and thoughts are with you…

    Like

Leave a Reply

