to groove or not to groove, that's the question

Saturday night I went to Mohegan Sun to see
Hall & Oates
. If you’re scratching your head wondering who they are, H&O had a string of Top40 hits in the late 70’s and early 80’s.
Sara Smile, Rich Girl, She’s Gone and You Make my Dreams Come True, are few tunes that topped the charts back in the days when the “thin” tie was cool.
And though I’ve always loved Hall’s voice, I wouldn’t go out of my way to go see him.

 

A dear friend of ours had a few tickets that she was going to have to eat if my wife and I didn’t go.
I looked at it like this: a night at Mohegan with two great looking blondes on both sides of me…ok, I’m in. (wow, that was quick)

 

The first thing I noticed about the concert was the way H&O looked.
They’d aged a bit but for the most part it looks as though they’ve taken pretty good care of themselves (or they have a totally rad make-up artist).
The band took the stage and began the night with “Maneater”.
It was sounding good and I was enjoying just listening when the main PA went dead.
There were distant echoes of the band reverberating around the arena.
It sounded as if someone had thrown a sock over the entire band. Not good.
Sadly, it only went down from there with a plague of equipment, tuning and sound problems.
Hall looked visibly pissed off and rightly so.
Oates was in a daze, musically woolgathering for another rainy day.

 

Hall remained the consummate professional and played to the audience by doing requests from the first few rows of people yelling titles up to the stage.

The show went on; glitches and all.

I found that facet of the show fascinating because I’ve been in their shoes many times before (smaller venue, but the same problems).
You just have to grin and bear it, hold on tight and ride out the storm.
Even though you know you’re having a sucky night.

Performance art is reliant on a sacred phenomenon where flow and creativity must combine perfectly to form this alchemy that transports the listener to a higher musical plateau.
As a musician, when you find that groove musically, you’re homefree.

Basically, some nights you have it and some nights, no matter who you sell your soul to, you will suck. End of story.

H&O are still doing some great stuff.

“Cab Driver” and “Ooh, Ooh Child” were the polished gems.

See? Sometimes the pros can fool even me.

 

~m

6 thoughts on “to groove or not to groove, that's the question

  1. Deb-
    I like it when people have told me something I’ve written takes them for a stroll down memory lane.
    Thanks for the comment.
    btw- they did “Out of Touch”. Nice

    Like

  2. I can’t imagine many bands of today still performing under such circumstances, but then again bands of today don’t do live shows either do they? Maybe thats what’s wrong with the music industry, not enough people who can actually play live. All my fav performers tend to be those that can. Michael Buble is 10 times better on stage than on cd, and it’s that talent that will make me purchase their music…
    p.s I remember these guys too!!

    Like

  3. I like the point you made about the show going on despite the badness.

    Compare and contrast: Daryl Hall has technical issues thrown at him, and he handles it with dignity and class.

    Axl Rose has the same, and assaults audience members.

    Is it any wonder that Hall and Oates are still drawing crowds while Axl has floundered for ten years?

    — david

    Like

Leave a Reply

