Solar Sex Panel

David Letterman used to have a segment that he did from time to time that was called “Brush with Greatness”. People in the studio audience would get up and tell a short story about their own up close and personal experience in meeting someone famous. I had such an experience today. Retail is a funny business and you never know who you might meet. That I work in a cigar store ups that ante considerably.

This gentleman today purchased several cigars and after I counted back his change I said, “If ever you’re stuck for a Halloween costume, you could always go as John Hiatt.”

He looked at me and laughed and said, “That’s funny, I am John Hiatt.”

I said, “The resemblance is really uncanny.”

For those of you who don’t know, John Hiatt is one of the most prolific songwriters to grace the planet today.
I felt so honored just to shake his hand.
This is a guy that’s recorded an incredible album with a band called
Little Village featuring Ry Cooder, Nick Lowe and Jim Keltner—All Musical Gods, basically. Wonderful CD.

Hiatt has written tunes for many major artists.
Some songs include Thing called love (B. Raitt), Have a little faith in me (various artists), Inside Job (Little Village)
and Riding with the King. (E. Clapton)

He struck me as just another regular guy though, albeit one that writes great songs. As we talked he asked about the kind of music I play.
He was actually interested in what kind of music I was doing.
John Hiatt—interested? I was blown away.
He gave me a personal invite to the show tonight in Boston but I had to decline. He says he’ll be in town again and will stop by and say hello. I’ll be sure to have a nice cigar waiting just for him. Man, I think that's just so cool…

~m

3 thoughts on “Solar Sex Panel

  1. Awesome! I certainly never would have recognized him. I know of him and his music though. If you play music too, certainly doesn’t hurt to have a “friend” like that. Next he’ll be coming over to the house to “jam” for the night!! There’s a radio station from U of Penn in Phila called WXPN. You can listen live on the net at XPN.org. They play Hiatt, Gorka, just about anything singer/songwriter.

    Like

  2. Thanks so much for the encouragement you left on my blog!
    Most people wouldn’t take the time to do that.
    I’ll be taking your advice, although Steinbeck is already a favorite of mine.
    Keep writing,
    -Jess

    Like

Leave a Reply

