Jonathan Franzen

Several months ago a dear friend suggested that I read something by Jonathan Franzen (thanks, Joanie). I tucked the suggestion into my back pocket until the next trip to the public library (a favorite place of mine).
I found myself scanning the book shelves a few weeks later looking for anything that caught my eye.
How to be Alone: Essays by Jonathan Franzen sat on the shelf, silently whispering, "Take me! Take me!" Something gently pushed my hand towards the book and I took it.
Upon opening the book my eyes froze on the table of contents.
The title of the first story was "My Father's Brain", a story that chronicled Franzen's own personal ordeal and inner thoughts about his father's fight against Alzheimer's Disease. I was amazed by Franzen's astounding talent and sadly credible insights into this insidious disease.
If you have a bit of time and are remotely interested in reading the story, click the link above. I found it floating around in cyberspace and thought that the best thing I could do was to share it.
~m

3 thoughts on “Jonathan Franzen

  1. Reading your beautifully-expressed thoughts and feelings about your mother’s and father’s Alzheimer’s journeys make me feel hopeful. I’m going through a similar journey with my mother and I have to believe that there IS a point to it all, a design that’s only indirectly observed. We have to look for it in an entirely different way–kind of the way you look at stars, which are seen better in the peripheral vision. But I can see it in your lovely writing. Thank you.

    Can I also suggest another writer? Floyd Skloot, In the Shadow of Memory. It’s a poet’s reflections on his own dementia.

    Like

  2. My father has Alzheimer’s – Mid-Late Stage and I just finished reading “My Father’s Story”. My mother is ill, too with advanced pulmonary disease. I find myself consumed with their welfare–we need to change their living situation; they are currently living in a senior community apartment with some hired assistance, but with Dad’s paranoia and other bizarre behaviors we know we can’t go on like this for long. Losing someone to Alzheimer’s is something no one could possibly understand, unless living through it. Thanks for sharing with me. Somehow it helps me feel less alone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

